CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to EDP Norfolk today CLICK HERE

Own Label wine review

PUBLISHED: 12:19 15 March 2010 | UPDATED: 16:53 20 February 2013

Own Label wine review

Own Label wine review

Brian Sullivan of Adnams is proud and excited to introduce a selection of Own Label wines to complement grown-up dining.

In a world of its own



Brian Sullivan of Adnams is proud and excited to introduce a selection of Own Label wines to complement grown-up dining.



Just the thought of a Buyers Own Brand wine (BOB) sends shivers down my spine, much like the acronym BOGOF, or more colloquially know as Bog Off Buy One, Get One Free, where some poor grower has had to forgo his living!




Happily for us, when it comes to Adnams Own Label wines, our criteria is probably very different to that of a multi-nationals and I am incredibly proud and excited to introduce to you the most recent additions to our Own Label selection. The new wines that we have adopted under the Adnams Cellar Selection, give greater depth to our existing, mid-price, Adnams Selection range, and are designed as being the ultimate dinner party wines, which one can buy with absolute confidence and without breaking the bank. We have not gone out to find the cheapest, nor, indeed, the most expensive wine in its category but instead have concentrated on identifying wines that we feel offer the best quality-to-price ratio and which will complement perfectly, grown-up dining. We have cajoled existing growers into our way of thinking and also new ones who were very excited by our plans.



Brian Sullivan is Adnams cellar and kitchen manager in Norfolk. He can be contacted
at the following stores: The Old School House, Park Road, Holkham, NR23 1AB, 01328 711714,
holkham@adnams.co.uk
23a Lees Yard, Off Bull Street, Holt, NR25 6HS, 01263 715558,
holt@adnams.co.uk


www.adnams.co.uk


The Reds


2006 Crozes Hermitage, Adnams Cellar Selection



Where is it from? The northern Rhne.
Grapes: 100pc Syrah.
Who made it? Samuel Ferraton.
Why is it special? We used to buy from the Ferratons 20 years ago, so this has been a voyage of rediscovery
What does it taste like? Spicy, black fruit and cherries. Touch of smoke.
Food match: Beef casserole with plenty of garlic!
Price: 13.99.

2001 Fronsac, Adnams Cellar Selection



Where is it from? The Fronsac appellation on the right bank of Bordeaux, adjacent to the Saint-Emilion vineyards.
Grapes: 80pc Merlot, 12pc Cabernet Sauvignon, 4pc Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot and Malbec.
Who made it? Monsieur James Gregoire.
Why is it special? Classic claret with a bit of maturity to it.
What does it taste like? Rich, subtle oak tones with black fruit.
Food match: Roast beef or lamb.
Price: 17.99.

2005 Rioja Monte Acuro, Adnams Selection



Where is it from? Bodegas Medievo in northern Spain.
Grapes: Tempranillo.
Who made it? The unlikely sounding Santiago Garde.
Why is it special? It comes from an ultra modern
winery and combines fine fruit-driven style, with traditional aromas from American oak barrel ageing. The latest addition to the Adnams Selection range (not the Cellar Selection range).
What does it taste like? Black fruit, vanilla and a touch of spice.
Food match: Pheasant, partridge or pigeon.
Price: 7.99.


The Whites



2008 Sancerre, Adnams Cellar Selection



Where is it from? Central Loire Valley.
Grapes: Sauvignon Blanc.
Who made it? Jean Pabiot.
Why is it special? The Pabiot family is based in neighbouring appellation in Pouilly Fum and this comes from its small vineyard holding called La Mrisire.
What does it taste like? Crisp, fresh with defined elderflower characteristics. Elegant.
Food match: Chicken or fish.
Price: 14.99.

2007 Chablis, Adnams Cellar Selection



Where is it from? Burgundy, northern France.
Grapes: Chardonnay.
Who made it? Clothilde Davenne.
Why is it special? In the past,
we have bought Chablis from top estates, made for them by Clothilde. Now she has her
own vineyard and winery. We are very proud that she has agreed to make this wine for us.
What does it taste like? Minerally, citrus tones with a touch of lees (yeast and grape skin character, found in the most interesting Chardonnays).
Food match: Oysters.
Price: 14.99.

0 comments

More From Food & Drink

When it comes to gin, Norfolk is leading the way with a host of award-winning distillers and makers across the county

Read more
December 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018

We all know how important your dog is but also how important the pub is... so we’ve gathered some great dog friendly pubs in Norfolk that welcome four-legged friends

Read more
Monday, December 3, 2018

‘Tis the season to party! So to get you in the mood follow Andrew Jones’ festive guide to presenting canapés to be proud of

Read more
November 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018

You can enjoy a festive special set price menu Sunday to Thursday nights throughout December!

Read more
Monday, November 26, 2018

We visit a micro-dairy to find out how one family solved the problem of never having enough milk and adopted an old-fashioned approach to farming

Read more
November 2018
Thursday, November 22, 2018

We’ve teamed up with leading Norfolk independent store Bakers & Larners to offer one lucky reader a luxury hamper worth £250 in this cracking Christmas competition

Read more
Monday, November 19, 2018

Escape to a cosy pub in Norfolk this winter, the perfect place to find sanctuary after a long walk on a cold afternoon. We have picked 17 of the best cosy pubs in Norfolk

Read more

After testing the patience of the Dial House team with more reservation changes than is usually considered acceptable, we had high hopes of a meal to match

Read more
November 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018

Pick up the dog and bone and head to Diss’ new pie and mash shop with your friends

Read more
November 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Visit The Hungry Ewe in Hoveton for cheeseboards, charcuterie and pates served with wine, ales and gins

Read more
November 2018

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Like us on Facebook

Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search