CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to EDP Norfolk today CLICK HERE

The Wildebeest Arms, Stoke Holy Cross restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 10:54 15 March 2010 | UPDATED: 16:53 20 February 2013

The Wildebeest Arms, Stoke Holy Cross restaurant review

The Wildebeest Arms, Stoke Holy Cross restaurant review

This month your food detective visits an old favourite near Norwich to see if it's as good as ever.

A rave review



Reviewed: The Wildebeest Arms, Stoke Holy Cross, 01508 492497



This month your food detective visits an old favourite near Norwich to see if its as good as ever.

The Wildebeest is one of the jewels in the Animal Inns crown, run very efficiently by Henry and Tanya Watt the Mad Moose, Mackintoshs, and the Hunny Bell are also part of their empire. Its great to see a local mini chain doing so well and giving those big boys a run for their money.
The Wildebeest, formerly just a boozer in a popular village south of Norwich, caused a bit of a stir when it was transformed into a gastropub with an African theme about 15 years ago.




But, especially with Daniel Smith in charge of the kitchen, it has built up a great reputation for on trend cuisine at decent prices you can currently enjoy a three-course evening meal for 19.95, which is great value.
Voguish ingredients include beetroot, celeriac and squashes. Menus change for lunch and dinner and also each month. Portions are generous and there are always lovely sauces created with a liberal use of fresh herbs spotted growing just outside the kitchen door!




The Wildebeest has stayed pretty much the same since it opened, but it has had a bit of a revamp this year, with a new loo block and a bit more room created in the kitchen, so it is all ready for the festive season!
We escaped the children one evening for a spot of decent R&R. It was Tuesday and heaving! The car park was full.




Theres always a good atmosphere this is quite the place for the citys movers and shakers and theres plenty of staff to ensure all runs smoothly. As we perused the menu, I fancied a stiff gin, but was struck by all the rather quaffable wines by the glass. So I went for a very nice French ros followed by an Italian white both large! Himself wasnt pleased to see there were no real ales on offer and with Norfolk having so many of its own breweries. Maybe thats something to think about.
The la carte menu is more fussy, with prices to match. A fillet of beef comes in at a fairly hefty 24.50, while parma-wrapped monkfish is 19.50.




The set menu offers four choices per course, which is plenty for me. Sure theyre not as ambitious as the la carte offerings, but still jolly pleasant. I started with a duo of different mackerel offerings, which was very tasty and served on a slate slab, a nice little touch. Himself had a hearty butternut squash soup and was heard scraping the bowl. A raised eyebrow indicated that this wasnt quite the ticket.




Next saw me go for a pork dish with plenty of flavours and lots of little extras a big fat mushroom, spinach, celeriac and more, while Sir decided upon a salmon dish which wasnt as light as it looked. There were plenty of greens, with more spinach and samphire, but the sauce was rich and apparently on the heavy side.




Naturally, we had to try desserts, with the pannacotta an easy choice for me. The strawberry sorbet addition was yummy, too. My husband tried the tiramisu and, being somewhat of an expert (he even used to make it himself), was more than satisfied.




So, yes, the Wildebeest is firing on all four cylinders and for this they deserve plaudits. Getting a good reputation is one thing, maintaining it is quite another.

What we ate




Roasted butternut squash soup with chives and truffle oil.
Warm, smoked mackerel and mackerel cake with rmoulade and avocado pure.
Pan fried fillet of salmon with thyme and red onion crushed new potatoes, butter leeks, buttered samphire and lemon and caper beurre blanc.
Baked herb and Dijon fillet of local pork, with garlic and thyme roasted potatoes, flat mushroom, char red onions, celeriac pure, buttered spinach and a light cream jus.
Vanilla pannacotta with strawberry sorbet and strawberry pure.
Tiramisu with white chocolate foam and amaretti biscuits.



Drinks



Pint of bass 2.70.
250ml glass of house wine 5.
Large bottle of fizzy water 5.
Peppermint tea 1.95.
Latte 2.25.


Two courses 16.95; three courses, 19.95.



Verdict
Food and drink 10/10.
Service 9/10.
Value for money 10/10 for that great set menu!

0 comments

More From Food & Drink

When it comes to gin, Norfolk is leading the way with a host of award-winning distillers and makers across the county

Read more
December 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018

We all know how important your dog is but also how important the pub is... so we’ve gathered some great dog friendly pubs in Norfolk that welcome four-legged friends

Read more
Monday, December 3, 2018

‘Tis the season to party! So to get you in the mood follow Andrew Jones’ festive guide to presenting canapés to be proud of

Read more
November 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018

You can enjoy a festive special set price menu Sunday to Thursday nights throughout December!

Read more
Monday, November 26, 2018

We visit a micro-dairy to find out how one family solved the problem of never having enough milk and adopted an old-fashioned approach to farming

Read more
November 2018
Thursday, November 22, 2018

We’ve teamed up with leading Norfolk independent store Bakers & Larners to offer one lucky reader a luxury hamper worth £250 in this cracking Christmas competition

Read more
Monday, November 19, 2018

Escape to a cosy pub in Norfolk this winter, the perfect place to find sanctuary after a long walk on a cold afternoon. We have picked 17 of the best cosy pubs in Norfolk

Read more

After testing the patience of the Dial House team with more reservation changes than is usually considered acceptable, we had high hopes of a meal to match

Read more
November 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018

Pick up the dog and bone and head to Diss’ new pie and mash shop with your friends

Read more
November 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Visit The Hungry Ewe in Hoveton for cheeseboards, charcuterie and pates served with wine, ales and gins

Read more
November 2018

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Like us on Facebook

Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search